Mardi Gras 2017

Living in Southeast Louisiana, Mardi Gras is a BIG DEAL. Its not so much what you catch but they fun times you have with family and friends. My little family’s Mardi Gras started last Sunday with the Krewe of Ambrosia. The boys had a blast especially dancing to the marching bands.img_0757

I love the memories I make each year at this time. We had a typical school week until Thursday night. NP’s school has something known as “Cajun Carnival” where chances are sold (a huge school fundraiser) for the opportunity to become your grade-level’s duke and maid. So NP sold chances to our family and friends. He really wanted to be 1st grade Duke. Thursday’s night arrives and that big production occur at our town civic center…..yes it’s that big of a deal. Our whole community turns out and the place gets packed. Well not only was my little dude named 1st Grade Duke but he was also chosen to be KING….His reaction was priceless. He was over the moon. We were so proud.img_0798

The hubby & I are members of a Mardi Gras Krewe as well…the Krewe of Cleophas. Friday night was our krewe ball to kick off our parading weekend. Our float was “The Magic Carpet of Aladdin”. Our party was awesome and the band was rocking…We got to see this year’s royalty (which was my sister-in-law), dance, eat and have a ball.

Then Saturday morning rolls around and its to my childhood stomping grounds…Krewe of Apollo. I take my boys every year. I get to hang out with my family. Its great watching our kids enjoy a parade we enjoyed as children.

Needless to say that by Sunday which was the hubby and I parade day we were worn out. However as they say “Let the good times roll” so thats what we did with a little assistance. I was running low on energy and sunburnt. I quick trip to our essential oil drawer in the kitchen and we were good to go. I truly don’t know where I would be without them. They soothed my torched skin and gave me the pre-parade pick-me-up I needed to get through our 3 hour route.

We had such blast riding this year as we do every year. It is truly an experience. We see our family and friends on the route. We see so much excitement on the crowds faces. The energy is electric. My mom helped out taking the boys to the parade so we could see them when we passed.

Today was my little dude’s turn his parade. Since he was chosen as his school’s Cajun Carnival King, he had the opportunity to participate in the Krewe of Choupic. He had a blast. He was worn out from all the throwing of Mardi Gras goodies.

To completely recap our last nine days, it was incredibly exhausting. I made so many wonderful memories with my boys. I am hoping to lay back for the rest of our holiday break from school to relax, catch up on my laundry/house cleaning, and finally make a trip to Whole Foods…I have only been trying to get there since the summer.

PS. I have also getting ready to start a new book challenge pick – The Shack by William P. Young. I want to finish reading it before I decide about seeing the film. I love to READ…so this challenge has been fun so for. 🙂

PSS. I am starting another round of 21 Sugar Detox of March 6th. So I will be posting about this as well. So much to write about 😉

Leave a Reply

