Life Just Gets Away From You Sometimes

I know I haven’t blogged in a while. Life got away from me for sure. With the end of school and start of summer we having running around like some chickens…LOL. Let me catch  you up on the happenings around here.

NP finished first grade with a  bang. He was recognized and received many awards. He even grow an inch since the first day. He has changed his career aspirations from an artist to an astronomer. Slow down dude!!!IMG_2077

NP also had is ceremony to move from a Tiger to a Wolf in Cub Scouts. He loves all the dudes in his den and the fun activities they do. He works hard for his adventure loops and patches. We even pulled off a “campfire” cake for the big party…not too shabby if I say so myself.IMG_2519

We started our camping season as well. We have made a few trips so far and had a blast. The kids love the adventure, the guys love throwing horseshoes and I just love that everything seems to be a little slower. There were some serious Pedro and Yatzee games that went down.IMG_2520

I hosted a baby shower for my sister-in-law. Everything turned out amazing with help from our families. Now its just to want patiently for Baby Amelia’s arrival in August.IMG_2521

We have had swimming lessons for both boys, activities at the library, playset assembly in the backyard, movie date to see Cars 3. We may be busy but boys and I are having a blast.IMG_2522

The hubby and I had an amazing date night last week. It was very impromptu. Grandma had stopped by to see the boys’ new playset. Then the next thing I know they convinced her into a sleep over. Sometimes you need a pause away from the kiddos and remind yourself that your spouse needs attention too. We went to a local restaurant called Boudreaux and Thibodauxs. We actually had forgotten about it. So happy we remembered it and went by. The food was incredible: crab fingers, seafood special, redfish coubillion, and the Turtle on da Half-Shell (dessert). Needless to say we ate WAY TOO MUCH but enjoyed our night out.IMG_23582017 Reading Challenge update!!!!!

img_0524

My completed list: 6 books left…six month of the year left. Not a bad pace!

  1. a book you chose because of the cover – Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  2. a book you’ve previously started but never finished – A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey
  3. a book by an author you already love – King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard
  4. a book that everyone is raving about – A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron
  5. a book recommend by your partner or a friend (bestie) – Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  6. a book to ‘expand your horizons’ – The Power of Intention by Dr. Wayne Dyer
  7. a book considered ‘a classic’ – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  8. a book published in 2017 -A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah Maas (May 2, 2017)
  9. a book by an author you’ve never read – The Sun is also a Star by Nicole Yoon
  10. a book you’ve been meaning to read – Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  11. a book set in a city you want to travel to – Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey
  12. a book that has been turned into a movie – The Shack by William P. Young

# 8 – Done! Sarah Maas’ Court of Thorns and Roses Book 3IMG_1730

I have fallen head over heals in love with this series. I also hate when you find a series at the beginning of its release. Its hard to wait for the those to come out…usually one a year.

I also just picked up Gone with the Wind from library. My bestie gave my To Kill a Mockingbird for my birthday last year. We will be leaving for a short road trip this weekend with the boys so I have a stack of books for the journey. Hoping to knock out a few more from my list.

*** None challenge related but I stumbled upon another series just beginning. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. OMG!!! The web of these 3 sisters was beautifully intoxicating. It was a little slow to start because you are building background for three completely different sisters. However by the end I will drooling for more. Sadly the next one will not be released until September.

 three_dark_crowns_001

(FYI…this is not my pic. I read this electronically from the public library but I will be getting my own copy.)

Leave a Reply

