Champagne Cake…OH YES!!!

I am such a WordPress troll. If you haven’t surfed the reader, people are putting some great stuff on there.

OK on one of my many exploration sessions, I found  a recipe for a Champagne cake by Katie Bird.

I followed the recipe she posted and shocked myself. I consider myself a baker but sometimes when you try a new recipes, you are always scared it will come back inedible.

So my bestie Lauren from Life is Like a Box of Chocolates had a birthday on Father’s Day this year so we went out the dinner the following Friday. I was dying to make this cake so I thought it would be a great gift for her.

I can proudly say this is my prettiest masterpiece to date.

IMG_8289.JPG

The only thing I adjusted to the recipes was the filling. Katie’s recipe said she put whole raspberries with icing in the center.

I decided to use a package of frozen mixed berries. I put them in my food processor with a little granulated sugar and blended that down to almost a jam consistency.

YES! You can really taste the champagne!

She loved the cake and that’s all that matters.

IMG_8306.JPG

Now I have to go find something new to try.


Happy Baking y’all! — xx

Signature

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. bookishluna says:

    That cake looks so yummy, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. cdfolse says:

      Thanks. I was quite simple to make.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. katie bird says:

    So happy this recipe worked for you! It’s seriously one of the best cakes I’ve made to date. I’ll have to try out your filling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment